ASP World Tour 2012

ASP Billabong Pro Tahiti | Perfect 10s set-up a swell finish

Mick Fanning backside tube riding ASP/Kirstin

The surf is back in Teahupoo and today will see the conclusion of the ASP Billabong Pro Tahiti. You can watch the business end of the competition live at

It was obvious how frustrating the eight days without waves had been for the surfers in Tahiti judging by the way they reacted when some swell finally did arrive.

Jeremy Flores pulled out something extremely special with an incredible no-hands backhand barrel. The judges were so impressed with Jeremy’s ride that they rewarded him with a Perfect 10 score.

But the competition is so intense in Tahiti that even with Jeremy’s Perfect 10 he still came runner-up in his heat to Joel Parkinson.

It was also a busy day for two-time ASP World Champion and current ASP WCT No.1 Mick Fanning. The Aussie survived a tight third round heat against Fredrick Patacchia before getting the better of Taj Burrow and Julian Wilson in round four.

Mick had to stay on his toes out there in the swell as changeable conditions added an extra element of difficultly to the day.

“The conditions are night and day between the two heats today. This morning wasn’t classic Chopes and it was more turns than barrels, and then this afternoon, the wind came good and the swell was pulsing. It was so much fun. I’m into the Quarterfinals now so that’s a pretty good result for me historically at this event. We’ll see what tomorrow brings.”

Monday is the last day of the ASP Billabong Pro Tahiti so the action will be coming thick and fast as the world’s best surfers compete for those precious ranking points. Take a trip to Tahiti and watch every wave of the competition live at


Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) 14.17 def. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 8.34
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) 13.83 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 9.37
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) 14.04 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 11.00
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) 18.30 def. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 17.50
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 18.30 def. Michel Bourez (PYF) 15.17
Heat 6: Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) 18.34 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 16.44
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 12.83 def. Taylor Knox (USA) 4.47
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 15.60 def. Heitor Alves (BRA) 12.60
Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA) 15.10 def. Josh Kerr (AUS) 11.93
Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) 13.30 def. Brett Simpson (USA) 13.17
Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 13.60 def. Alejo Muniz (BRA) 4.73
Heat 12: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 16.87 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 10.67


Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) 15.60, Taj Burrow (AUS) 9.10, Julian Wilson (AUS) 2.80
Heat 2: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 16.76, Owen Wright (AUS) 15.60, Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) 9.67
Heat 3: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 18.23, Jeremy Flores (FRA) 17.77, Damien Hobgood (USA) 14.47
Heat 4: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 17.83, John John Florence (HAW) 7.00, Kieren Perrow (AUS) 3.23


Heat 1: Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) vs. Taj Burrow (AUS)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 4: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)






    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word on the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details