ASP World Tour 2012

ASP Billabong Pro Tahiti | The first wave crashes down at Teahupoo

Mick Fanning Brian Bielmann/Red Bull photofiles

The opening day of the ASP Billabong Pro Tahiti has arrived and the swell forecast is looking good. The best surfers on the planet are hopeful they will get the chance to get this latest leg of the ASP World Championship Tour underway today.

You can watch the 34 top ranking surfers in the world go up against some exciting local wildcards live on You can also check back into this site at the end of each day to view our exclusive highlights of the swell action out in Tahiti.

The beast that must tamed in Tahiti is the wave at Teahupoo, the Pacific Ocean’s heaviest lefthander. This barrel has been known to chew up and spit out the best surfers around.

The forecasts for the Billabong Pro Tahiti are predicting a lully SW swell in the afternoon bringing five to six-foot faces with occasional eight-foot waves. There will be a stormy feel out in the Pacific Ocean.

Up first is John John Florence (HAW), 19, Miguel Pupo (BRA), 20, and Patrick Gudauskas (USA), 26, in the opening heat of Round 1. Watch it live at


Heat 1: John John Florence (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 3: Mick Fanning (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF), Alain Riou (PYF)
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 8: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 9: Owen Wright (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 10: Julian Wilson (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 12: Jeremy Flores (FRA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)


    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word on the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details