Red Bull Junior Team

Red Bull Junior Team: FIA F3 Series 1 + 1 = 3

Carlos Sainz jnr at Oulton Park Red Bull

Following the decision by the FIA, the governing body for global motorsports, 2012 sees the creation of  the 2012 FIA European Formula 3 Championship through a cooperation between the two leading F3 championships in Europe – the Formula 3 Euro Series and British Formula 3.

The 2012 FIA European Formula 3 Championship consists of 10 races in 7 countries. The  series features rounds from the two participating Formula 3 championships, 8 from the Formula 3 Euro Series and 2 from the Cooper Tires British Formula 3 International Series.

Red Bull Junior Team member Carlos Sainz jnr. already leads the British F3 series in his Carlin Motorsports Dallara VW after the first two race weekends in Oulton Park and Monza. He will now contest the Formula 3 Euro Series that starts next weekend at Hockenheim which is also the opening round of the FIA F3 Championship. The young man from Madrid will see action in 46 F3 races this year.

For Carlin Motorsport it is a return to the Formula 3 Euro Series following brief guest appearances in 2008 and 2009. They have won no less than 7 titles in the British F3 championship since its inception in 1996. Including those victories by Red Bull Juniors Jaime Alguersuari, Daniel Ricciardo and Jean-Eric Vergne. The British team has also won a race in the Formula 3 Euro Series, at Brands Hatch in 2009, with Red Bull Junior Brendon Hartley.

FIA European Formula 3 Championship – the schedule:

27/04 - 29/04Hockenheimring (GER) Euro F3
11/05 - 13/05Pau (FRA) British F3
18/05 - 20/05Brands Hatch (GBR) Euro F3
01/06 - 03/06Red Bull Ring (AUT) Euro F3
29/06 - 01/07Norisring (GER) Euro F3
26/07 - 28/07Spa-Francorchamps (BEL) British F3
17/08 - 19/08Nürburgring (GER) Euro F3 & British F3
24/08 - 26/08Zandvoort (NED) Euro F3
28/09 - 30/09Valencia (ESP) Euro F3
19/10 - 21/10Hockenheimring (GER) Euro F3

Timetable – Hockenheim 2012, FIA European F3 Championship.

Saturday, 28 April 2012
11.15 to 11.55 a.m. – Race 1
4.45 to 5.05 p.m. – Race 2

Sunday, 29 April 2012
11.15 to 11.55 a.m. – Race 3




    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word on the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details