Oracle Team USA crew Jimmy Spithill and his Oracle Team USA crew © America's Cup World Series

Jimmy Spithill and his Oracle Team USA crew rebounded from last place at the first turn of the Super Sunday fleet race finale to come back and win the America’s Cup World Series San Francisco Championship.

Spithill and his crew of Dirk de Ridder, John Kostecki, Jono MacBeth and Joe Newton were rock bottom off the start line but fought their way back through the fleet. They rounded the last windward gate first and held on for a 17-second win over their team-mates in Russell Coutts’ boat.

Spithill won 40 points for the race and totalled 79 points for the series. That put the crew in a tie with J.P. Morgan BAR (Ben Ainslie) for the series championship. Spithill went on to win the championship based on the final race finishes.

“The difference is the four guys on the front of the boat. We were dead last off the start line but it didn’t faze these guys. We have a real team of fighters here. We’re really, really happy.”

Jimmy Spithill and his Oracle Team USA crew put an emphatic stamp on this regatta. Yesterday the crew won the Match Racing Championship after capsizing and breaking frames in the wingsail during a fleet race. The crew also won the August AC World Series San Francisco Championship by 1 point, previously the closest finish at an AC World Series event. This tiebreaker with Ben Ainslie surpasses that previous record..

“We’ve always said we need to be able to come from behind and overcome adversity. I thought I gave them that yesterday with the capsize, but it’s really a sign of a strong team. The shore crew, our coaches, it’s been a fantastic team effort.”

AC World Series San Francisco Fleet Racing Championship (After 7 of 7 races)

1. ORACLE TEAM USA SPITHILL (Jimmy Spithill) 8-1-6-5-DNF-2-1 – 79
2. J.P. Morgan BAR (Ben Ainslie) 1-3-1-2-4-1-4 – 79 points
3. Artemis Racing – White (Terry Hutchinson) 10-2-2-1-3-3-3 – 72
4. Emirates Team New Zealand (Dean Barker) 2-8-5-6-1-4-7 – 57
5. ORACLE TEAM USA COUTTS (Russell Coutts) 3-5-8-7-8-10-2 – 56
6. Artemis Racing – Red (Nathan Outteridge) 4-4-4-4-9-8-5 – 52
7. Energy Team (Loick Peyron) 6-7-7-3-6-7-6 – 47
8. Team Korea (Peter Burling) 5-9-10-8-2-5-10 – 40
9. Luna Rossa Piranha (Chris Draper) 9-6-3-10-10-6-9 – 36
10. China Team (Phil Robertson) 7-10-11-9-5-11-8 – 28
11. Luna Rossa Swordfish (Iker Martinez) 11-11-9-11-7-9-11 – 20

AC World Series San Francisco Match Racing Championship

2. Emirates Team New Zealand
3. Artemis Racing – White
4. Artemis Racing – Red
6. Energy Team, 7. J.P. Morgan BAR
8. Team Korea
9. China Team
10. Luna Rossa Piranha
11. Luna Rossa Swordfish

2012-13 America’s Cup World Series Championship

Luna Rossa Piranha - 121
Artemis Racing White - 120
J.P. Morgan BAR - 116
Team Korea - 105
Energy Team – 102
Emirates Team New Zealand – 100
Artemis Racing Red – 90
Luna Rossa Swordfish – 71
China Team – 43

More Info:  and more videos at


    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word on the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details