Motocross of Nations 2010 1 Garth Milan/Red Bull Content Pool

The cream of the world's motocross talent heads for Saint Jean D'Angely, France this weekend for the Motocross of Nations, an annual team event where the riders represent their countries in their quest for the Chamberlain Trophy.

The Motocross of Nations returns to Le Circuit du Puy de Poursay for the first time in 11 years and riders from 35 countries will take part in an attempt to become the 65th winner of the event, which was first held in the Netherlands in 1947 and won by Great Britain.

Current holders of the Chamberlain Trophy are the United States of America, who grabbed the title for the 21st time on home soil in Lakewood, Denver in 2010 and have been the victors in each of the last six renewals of the Motocross of Nations.

But the USA team has a long way to go yet before emulating their nation's record 13-year winning streak in the competition, which took place between 1981 and 1993 inclusive.

Team USA in 2011 will comprise of three riders, namely the 2011 AMA Supercross Champion Ryan Villopoto, 2010 Supercross Champion and defending 2010 AMA Motocross champion Ryan Dungey, along with the 250-class rider Blake Baggett.

The hosts, France, were dealt a blow to their hopes of winning the event for the first time since their only sucess in Belgium in 2001, when Steven Frossard, who was second in the MX1 overall world championship standings this year, was ruled out due to a lung infection.

Frossard will be replaced by Christophe Pourcel, who joins Marvin Musquin and Gautier Paulin in Team France. 

null Rich van Every/Red Bull Content Pool

Team Great Britain are looking for their 17th Chamberlain Trophy, but haven't won it since 1994 in Switzerland and they've selected a strong team with Tommy Searle, Brad Anderson and Dean Wilson the riders charged with bringing home the crown once more.

“There is no reason why we can’t make the podium or even win it with a little luck,” Searle said recently. “I mean we have a really, really strong team.

"Dean (Wilson) won the AMA MX2 class, and I've won two GP's at St Jean, so I ride well there and Brad (Anderson) showed at the British GP that he is quick and if he gets a start he will be up there, and if he doesn't get a start he will fight his way through the pack.

"We really have a shot, but there are a lot of teams with good riders and it all takes a little luck, but we have a shot and I hope we get some luck."

Team Germany also look strong, with Max Nagl who's in with a shot of the MX1 crown joining Ken Roczen (pictured above) and Markus Schiffer, as they look for their first ever MXoN overall title.

Known as the 'Olympics of Motocross', the whole of the motocross world is eagerly awaiting this biggest of weekend's with MX1 world champion, Toni Cairoli and MX2 world champion, Roczen, favourites to take their respective overall titles.

Check out the action from the 2010 Motocross of Nations in this video: 

Want more?



    Add a comment

    * All fields required
    Only 2000 Characters are allowed to enter :
    Type the word on the left, then click "Post Comment":

    Article Details