Action from the the UCI DHI World Cup in Hafjell

Check out this best action clip from the men's and women's downhill runs at Hafjell
By team

Rachel Atherton and Aaron Gwin were confirmed as winners of the overall standings for the UCI Downhill World Cup after the finish of the last World Cup race on the 2012 calendar.

Aaron Gwin did not race at Hafjell but had already wrapped up the men’s title at the last round in Val d'Isère where he finished fifth.

The women’s title was however up in the air with Rachel Atherton vying with Emmeline Ragot for the overall World Cup honours.

A top five result would have given Atherton the title but Rachel wanted to finish the season on a high after suffering from back problems in the last month and not being at her best at the Downhill World Championship.

True to her competitive spirit, Atherton put down the best time to win at Hafjell. Ragot ran Atherton close by finishing second. Newly-crowned World Champion Morgane Charre continued her recent impressive form with a third place.

Speaking about the Hafjell victory on the Atherton Racing website, Rachel said:

The track was ridiculously rad and reminded me of home. To win a World Cup on such a cool track was an amazing feeling but to clinch the overall title at the same time is a dream come true

Steve Smith won the men’s competition, his first World Cup win ever. A surprise second was New Zealand’s George Brannigan with World Champion Greg Minnaar finishing third. Aaron Gwin did not race after sustaining an injury in practice.

A full classification of results and times from the men's and women's UCI DHI World Cup at Hafjell can be found on our UCI DHI Hafjell event page.

The final overall standings for the UCI DHI World Cup can be found on our UCI Mountain Bike World Cup page.


read more about
Next Story