Mt St Anne DH World Cup report

Cunny checks in from Canada.
Dawg days © Sven Martin/Red Bull Content Pool
By Richard Cunynghame

The season so far has been painted a vibrant combination of black and yellow. The Atherton siblings' dominance has been evident in the three wins for Rachel and two for Gee. It was then inevitable, I suppose, that this ethereal brilliance could not last forever.

Come race day there was some impressive riding from Frenchwoman, Emmeline Ragot, who showed that she comes on stronger the rougher and faster the track gets. Manon Carpenter once again claimed a second place, her third of the season so far. 

The day wasn't so kind to series overall leader Rachel Atherton, having achieved the fastest qualifying result a large crash at the top of the course ended those hopes and another big one near the bottom cemented it.

Gee had already had his crash for the weekend in qualifying and came down twenty riders from the end. 

As we approached the top ten, a heavy downfall made conditions treacherous.

For those caught in the shower, visibility was a huge issue. Some riders not actually having taken clearing tear-offs with them to the top. Brook MacDonald was caught in the very worst of it. Aaron Gwin showed great signs that he is returning to top form with a run that placed him on the final step of the podium.

Canadian, Stevie Smith, rode as if nothing had changed. His bike was drifting round corners and he was gapping over rock sections no others had dared. 

Slightly back at the first split, he pulled back more and more time the further down the mountain he got until at the finish he was nine tenths up on Gee Atherton's time.

Looking resplendent with a new curly moustache, he'd given it everything to keep his ship sailing straight at such excessive speeds. 

Looking forward to the last two rounds of the season, Gee Atherton still holds the series lead but he is going to have a battle on his hands to keep riders like Stevie Smith at bay. 



1 Stevie Smith (CAN) Devinci Global Racing 03:58:5

2 Gee Atherton (GBR) GT Factory Racing +00.9

3 Samuel Hill (AUS) CRC/Nukeproof

4 Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate +02.2

5 Aaron Gwin (USA) Specialized Racing DH +03.1

6 Danny Hart (GBR) Giant Factory Off Road +03.8

7 Brendan Fairclough (GBR) Gstaad-Scott +04.5

8 Andrew Neethling (RSA) Giant Factory Off Road +04.5

9 Florent Payet (FRA) Evil CK Racing Evian +04.6

10 Marc Beaumont (GBR) GT Factory Racing +04.8



1 Emmeline Ragot (FRA) Lapierre Gravity Republic 04:25.0

2 Manon Carpenter (GBR) Madison Saracen +04.2

3 Floriane Pugin (FRA) Gstaad-Scott +07.1

4 Emilie Siegenthaler (SUI) Gstaad-Scott +11.9

5 Myriam Nicole (FRA) Commencal/Riding Addiction +12.2

6 Morgane Charre (FRA) MS Mondraker Team +13.7

7 Tahnee Seagrave (GBR) FMD Racing/Intense Cycles +14.8

8 Micayla Gatto (CAN) +21.7

9 Fionn Griffths (GBR) +26.9

10 Jessica Stone (GBR) Unior Tools Team +34.4 

read more about
Next Story