Max Verstappen to drive for Toro Rosso in 2015

The Dutchman is set to make history and become the youngest ever F1 driver when he debuts next year.

Max Verstappen is set to become the youngest ever F1 driver when he makes his debut for Toro Rosso in 2015.
Max Verstappen is ready to make the leap to F1© Philip Platzer/Red Bull Content Pool

Rising star Max Verstappen is set to become the youngest driver in Formula One history next year as the Dutchman joins Daniil Kvyat at Scuderia Toro Rosso for 2015, and will drive for the team aged just 17.

Verstappen has set the world alight in his first year in single-seaters, winning eight races so far in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship and with a shot of the title.

Ever since I was seven years old, Formula 1 has been my career goal, so this opportunity is truly a dream come true.

This of course means the return of the Verstappen name to Formula One, after Max's father, Jos, drove for the likes of Benetton, Stewart and Arrows between 1994 and 2003.

We've all worked tremendously hard to reach Formula One. With the return of the Verstappen name to F1, I hope we can relive old memories and I'm hoping to see many fans at all the circuits.

Max is set to make his debut for Toro Rosso, aged 17, at the 2015 Australian Grand Prix.

Max Verstappen driving a Formula Renault 3.5 car at the Red Bull Ring in Spielberg in Austria. The Dutchman is set to become the youngest ever F1 driver.
Max recently tried out a Formula Renault 3.5 car© Philip Platzer/Red Bull Content Pool

Formula One's top ten youngest drivers.

1. Jaime Alguersuari 19 years, 125 days – 2009 Hungarian Grand Prix

2. Mike Thackwell – 19 years, 182 days – 1980 Canadian Grand Prix

3. Ricardo Rodriguez – 19 years, 208 days – 1961 Italian Grand Prix

4. Fernando Alonso – 19 years, 218 days – 2001 Australian Grand Prix

5. Esteban Tuero – 19 years, 320 days – 1998 Australian Grand Prix

6. Chris Amon – 19 years, 324 days – 1963 Belgian Grand Prix

7. Daniil Kvyat – 19 years, 324 days – 2014 Australian Grand Prix

8. Sebastian Vettel – 19 years, 349 days – 2007 United States Grand Prix

9. Eddie Cheever – 20 years, 53 days – 1978 South African Grand Prix

10. Jenson Button – 20 years, 53 days – 2000 Australian Grand Prix

For more Red Bull Motorsports action, follow @redbullmotors on Twitter

Want to experience the best of on the move? Get the app here.