Glenn Coldenhoff claims career first MX2 win

With MX2 world title winner Jeffrey Herlings sidelined, another Flying Dutchman emerged...
Glenn Coldenhoff claims career first MX2 win
Glenn Coldenhoff claims career first MX2 win © Ray Archer/Red Bull Content Pool
By Tim Sturtridge

With a broken shoulder ending the season early for undisputed MX2 champ Jeffrey Herlings the opportunity was there for some lesser known riders to jump into the spotlight at the British MXGP.

The sense that the race win was up for grabs was evident from start to finish in a no holds barred first moto at Matterley Basin. Herlings’ team-mate Jordi Tixier crashed hard as Australian Dean Ferris capitalised on an early lead to take the win. Jake Nicholls came home in second with Glenn Coldenhoff placed third.

Ferris was unable to follow up his impressive result in the second MX2 moto at the GP of Great Britain. The Australian crashed out as a tense battle for the lead went down to the final few laps.

Jordi Tixier gets back into the action
Jordi Tixier gets back into the action © Ray Archer/KTM/Red Bull Content Pool

Emerging from the confusion at the front of the race with the result to take the overall win was the KTM of Coldenhoff. The Dutchman was followed home by Nicholls, two strong finishes enough to secure second overall behind Coldenhoff. Jose Burtron took third overall to give KTM yet another three-way podium.

“It was amazing. To have the Dutch flag on the top means a lot to me and it was also a good job for KTM to win the MX2.” Glenn Coldenhoff said following his win, “It was hard racing and it’s pretty strange to win the GP with 3-4 but I am super happy and hope to do a good job again in Lierop in the last round.”

After his first race crash, Tixier did a phenomenal job to get back into the action in the second moto and record a fifth place finish, consolidating his second place in the championship standings.

Results MX2 Matterley Basin
1. Glenn Coldenhoff (NL), KTM (3-4)
2. Jake Nicholls (UK), KTM (2-6)
3. Jose Butron (E), KTM (5-3)
4. Roman Febvre (F), KTM (9-2)
5. Christophe Charlie (F), Yamaha (18-1)

Standings MX2 after 16 of 17 rounds
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NL), KTM, 692 (already MX2 World Champion 2013)
2. Jordi Tixier, 569
3. Jose Butron, 506
4. Christophe Charlier, 467
5. Glenn Coldenhoff, 450

read more about
Next Story