Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour

X-Fighters set for spectacular opener in Mexico

Featuring four former champions going head-to-head, Red Bull X-Fighters Mexico should be explosive.
By Sam Bloomfield

Every year it seems like the Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour has pushed the envelope to the limit and has progressed freestyle motocross as far as it can go, and every year we're proved wrong.

How is it going to move on from a season that saw French rider Tom Pagès land the first ever bike flip in competition? Can Josh Sheehan defend his hard-earned crown despite missing the first competition of the season? Well, frankly, we don't know, but we're going to enjoy finding out.

Check out the video above for a taste of the upcoming action.

The season's first action comes to us from Mexico City's Monumental Plaza de Toros on March 7. You can watch it all live here from 9:30pm CST local time (3:30am GMT/4:30am CET).

2015 is the 10th anniversary of the first Red Bull X-Fighters competition in Mexico. It's always a spectacular occasion, with a capacity crowd of 38,000 packed inside the world's biggest bullfighting arena.

Despite the absence of reigning champion Sheehan, the event will see no fewer than four former world title winners go head-to-head, with Spain's Dany Torres, Switzerland's Mat Rebeaud, Tom Pagès and New Zealand's Levi Sherwood amongst the field of 12 top riders.

After Mexico is done and dusted, the action moves on to Athens, Greece on June 12. We stay in Europe for the meeting in Madrid, Spain on July 10, before heading to Pretoria in South Africa on September 12. The season finale takes place in the United Arab Emirates on October 30.

For exclusive content and all the build-up, head to RedBullXFighters.com.

read more about
Next Story