Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour

Celebrate 15 years of Red Bull X-Fighters in Spain

Get ready for a new format, new riders and everything you’ve always loved about freestyle motocross.
Red Bull X-Fighters Madrid
Red Bull X-Fighters Madrid © Jörg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool
By Oliver Schran

The world's greatest freestyle motocross riders will converge on the immortal Plaza de Toros de Las Ventas in Madrid for a spectacular Red Bull X-Fighters event on June 24. This showdown will mark the 15th anniversary of the FMX competition being staged in Spain's capital city and there's plenty of scope for more magical moments in Madrid.

2015 World Tour champ vs three-time Madrid winner
Australia's Clinton Moore, the 2015 Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour champion, will be back in the air battling in the famous bullring against three-time Madrid winner Tom Pagès of France. Pagès has consistently sent huge Madrid crowds into a frenzy over the years with three straight victories, thanks to his deep bag of amazing tricks.

Check out Tom Pagès’ unbelievable Bike Flip below:

The best rider line-up of any FMX competition
Some of the greatest FMX athletes have tried to win over the knowledgeable and appreciative crowds in Madrid. American rider Travis Pastrana has also won Madrid three times but not consecutively like Pagès, while Spaniard Dany Torres has won the most important stop of the year on two occasions. Other winners in Madrid include Robbie Maddison of Australia, New Zealand rider Levi Sherwood, Mat Rebeaud of Switzerland, Amercians Nate Adams and Kenny Bartram, and Edgar Torronteras of Spain.

Check out the stars who’ve been to Madrid in the past 15 years below:

New format
This year's competition kicks off on Thursday, June 23, with a qualifying session to define three groups of four riders who will compete in a Jam Session. An additional new feature at the Jam Session – where riders perform their own series of tricks – will be a roulette round. Each group will spin a roulette wheel featuring the names of established tricks from the sport's rich history and all four riders in the group will have to perform that trick. The best two riders from each of the three Jam Sessions will progress to the semi-final rounds. In the semi-final, the top six riders will then battle it out head-to-head to determine who advances to the final three.

Novillero – online qualification for two wildcards

Alongside a new format in Madrid, the event will also give two ‘Novilleros’ – a term usually for aspiring young bullfighters – the chance to compete in the action. The Novilleros can win a spot in the competition by sending in a video of their best tricks.

If you think you have the skills to ride in Las Ventas visit redbullxfighters.com/novilleros and upload your clip.

Members of the public will have the chance to vote for their favourite Novillero and the Red Bull X-Fighters sport committee will select the second newcomer. Candidates can submit their profile starting on April 14 and voting begins immediately. This is the first time that any rider out there has had the chance to grab a ticket for the Grand Slam of FMX.

Rider list for Red Bull X-Fighters Madrid 2016
1. Clinton Moore (Austalia)
2. Tom Pagès (France)
3. Rob Adelberg (Australia)
4. Josh Sheehan (Australia)
5. Levi Sherwood (New Zealand)
6. David Rinaldo (France)
7. Dany Torres (Spain)
8. Taka Higashino (Japan)
9. Maikel Melero (Spain)
10. Adam Jones (USA)
11. Novillero 1
12. Novillero 2

Tickets: Available from Evento Tickets

Broadcast: We will stream the entire competition LIVE on redbullxfighters.com and on Red Bull TV. Red Bull TV is available on connected TVs, gaming consoles, mobile devices and more. For a full list of supported devices visit about.redbull.tv.

Please note: the broadcast will not be available in the USA, but will be shown exclusively on Fox Sports 1

Start Times: 10pm local time (CET)

June 24: Europe: 10pm (CET) | Canada: 1pm (PST) | Mexico: 3pm (CST) | Brazil: 5pm (BRT)
July 25: Japan: 5am (JST) | Australia: 6am (AEST) | New Zealand: 8am (NZST)

Video on Demand: The entire competition will be available on redbullxfighters.com as VOD right after the event and on Red Bull TV. 

TV: For TV stations around the globe, please check your local listings.

read more about
Next Story