Get hyped for Red Bull Hart Lines

Downtown Detroit is shaping up for a skateboarding takeover – watch it live here on May 13!
By Theo Lewitt

On Saturday, May 13, a line-up of some of the world's best skaters will take Detroit's Hart Plaza by storm for the third annual Red Bull Hart Lines event. The brainchild of Ryan Sheckler, Hart Lines is a completely unique event, which demands technical ability and high-speed board control if you want to come out on top.

If you've missed the event in years past, the format is as follows: An elite roster of 23 invited pros will take on the unique two-lane course, each lane with its own unique set of features. Contestants skate each lane once, then for their third and final run, choose for themselves. The top score from each lane based on style and skill is averaged and then balanced against the quickest time. How to win it? Go big, go fast and don't fall.

Sounds straightforward? Based on the last two years, it's anything but. Check out the slams from last year.

The roster is absolutely stacked this year. Ryan Sheckler, Torey Pudwill and Felipe Gustavo all had to sit the event out in 2016 due to injuries, but they're back and hungry as ever this year to snatch the throne from 2016 champ Nyjah Huston.

Peep the teaser up top to get hyped and tune into Red Bull TV on May 13, 3:30pm EST / 2:30pm CST / 9:30pm CEST to catch all the action live!

#RedBullHartLines

read more about
Next Story