Watch Gucci Mane and Zaytoven’s RBMA concert live

Listen to piano renditions of their biggest hits live at Red Bull Music Academy Festival NY 2017.
© Cooper Neill/Getty Images
By Richard S. Chang

Gucci Mane and Zaytoven, widely recognised as the godfathers of the hard-hitting, booty-shaking trap sound that rose out of Atlanta in the early 2000s and has since become a driving force in hip-hop and pop music in general (from Drake to Migos to Katy Perry), will play radically against type on May 16 when they perform piano renditions of some of their biggest hits in New York City. Gucci on the mic and Zay on the piano. That's it. No drum loops. No DJ. No hype man.

The event – Piano Nights: Gucci Mane & Zaytoven – is part of Red Bull Music Academy Festival NY and will be livestreamed on the Red Bull Music & Culture YouTube page (see the player above).

Tune in May 16 at 9pm EST / 6pm PST / 2am BST / 3am CEST for the live concert. Once the performance is over, it will be available on demand for 30 days.

But while Gucci Mane and Zaytoven are used to big productions and big crowds, they're probably more suited to a piano bar environment than most hip-hop artists. Gucci, with his loveable air (see his Instagram account) and wide toothy smile, is a throwback showman with an outsized personality. Zaytoven, who often infuses his productions with singing piano progressions and other keys, still plays the organ every Sunday at church.

For music fans, Piano Nights: Gucci Mane & Zaytoven will no doubt be a transcendental experience.

Find out more about Red Bull Music Academy Festival New York.

Want to discover a world of new music? Like our Facebook page.

Follow us on Instagram for the best in live music.

Next Story