Watch Cliff Diving Off Volcanic Rock on FOX Sports

Divers plunge off a 92-foot cliff face in the Azore Islands on FOX Sports 1, Sept. 22 at 8 p.m. ET.
© Dean Treml/Red Bull Content Pool
By Scott Hart

Going into the fifth stop of the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series in the Azores archipelago, Englishman Gary Hunt is dangerously close to running away with the season points title over top competitors Jonathan Paredes of Mexico, Artem Silchenko of Russia, Steven LoBue of the USA, and Orlando Duque of Colombia. All the action airs on FOX Sports 1 on Monday, September 22 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

This is the only location of this season where there are competition rounds off a 92-foot cliff face at speeds up to 52 mph, and from a monolith in the middle of the ocean. On the circular-shaped Vila Franca do Campo islet offshore from Portugal’s Azore Islands, an impressive monolith of volcanic stone will serve as a take-off point for breathtaking cliff dives.

Of volcanic origin, the Azores are undoubtedly one of the last paradises in Europe -- appearing often in legends of the lost continent of Atlantis.

“Portugal's Azores islands will host the world’s best divers as they drop off a series of natural rock ledges, staged on cliffs 92 feet above a narrow ocean channel,” said FOX Sports 1 host Trace Worthington. “With only two events left, British diver Gary Hunt is on a roll after winning the last three stops on the series, padding his overall lead. Meanwhile, American Steve Lobue sits fourth on the overall points list and hopes to close the gap, but he will need to bounce back from a sub-par performance in Norway.”

Along with Worthington, the show is hosted by 10-meter platform diving Olympic gold medalist David Boudia. The Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series is part of a stunning global sports series on FOX Sports 1 that also includes the Air Race World Championship, Crashed Ice World Championship and X-Fighters World Tour.

For the latest about the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series on FOX Sports 1, join the conversation with #RedBullCliffDiving and follow @redbullcliffdiving on Instagram.

2014 Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series on FOX Sports 1

1. Possum Kingdom Lake, Texas -- July 21 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT
2. Inis Mór, Ireland -- July 27 at 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT
3. Kragerø, Norway -- August 18 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT
4. Azores, S. Miguel, Portugal -- Sept. 22 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT
5. Bilbao, Spain -- November 3 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT
6. Yucatán, Mexico -- December 1 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT

After the FOX Sports 1 broadcast, the event will be available the same evening on demand starting at 10 pm ET on Red Bull TV, which is available for free at, through its iOS and Android applications, and on Apple TV, Xbox 360, Amazon Fire TV, Chromecast, and Samsung Smart TVs.

Keep up-to-date with the global series at and FOX Sports for detailed programming information.


read more about
Next Story