Thomas Genon: Living the dream

We profile the 19-year-old Belgian star as he looks to defend his Red Bull Joyride title.

© Dale Tidy/Red Bull Content Pool

A year on from his career defining win at Red Bull Joyride, Thomas Genon returns to Whistler for this weekend’s 2013 edition with the feeling that he now truly belongs at the very top of his sport.

The talented Belgian surprised even himself at Joyride in 2012 by taking the top spot after a flawless adrenaline-fuelled second run on the famous Whistler course. Since then we’ve seen far more consistent contest performances from Thomas on the 2013 FMB World Tour.

Thomas is now a strong contender for the overall World Tour crown this time around, a position that can only be strengthened if he repeats his achievements of a year ago at Whistler this weekend.

Watch Thomas Genon defend his title at Red Bull Joyride here on Red Bull Bike.

Transmission Times
USA: 16:00 PM PST (Los Angles) on August 17, 19:00 PM EST (New York) on August 17
Europe: 1:00 AM CET on August 18
Australia: 9:00 AM (Sydney) on August 18
New Zealand: 11:00 AM (Auckland) on August 18.