Cairoli crowned: Fifth title for MX World Champion

Italian wins fifth MX1 title in a row after an eventful GP at Matterley Basin in the UK...
© Ray Archer / KTM Images
By Joseph Caron Dawe

Tony Cairoli became a seven-times Motocross World Champion on Sunday as he claimed a fifth successive MX1 title at the British MXGP at Matterley Basin.

The Italian, a two-times MX2 World Champ and now quintuple MX1 title winner, sealed the 2013 crown with victory in race one at the British track before a mechanical problem in race two meant he was unable to finish. The result of the second moto was irrelevant however, with the 25 points in race one having already confirmed Cairoli's incredible achievement.

Victory by almost 14 seconds in the opening race of the day was a resounding success for the 27-year-old, and another reminder of his complete dominance of the sport. Clement Desalle and Kevin Strijbos completed the top three in the first race, with Evgeny Bobryshev and Cairoli's Red Bull KTM Factory Racing team-mate Ken de Dycker rounding out the top five. Home rider Tommy Searle came across the line sixth.

In race two Cairoli took the holeshot and led off on lap one, but a crash on the opening round of the track left him down in eighth. Desalle took the lead and never looked back as he powered to victory, with his 2-1 result handing him the overall GP victory.

Cairoli managed to make his way back up to fourth before mechanical issues caused his bike to repeatedly cut out, and the Italian was eventually forced to pull out. Jeremy van Horebeek and Strijbos came across second and third, with Bobryshev fourth.

Tony Cairoli MX1 2013 World Championship Red Bull KTM Factory
Cairoli out front at Matterley Basin © Ray Archer / KTM Images

With the points counted up and Desalle the clear winner, his Suzuki team-mate Strijbos and Honda rider Bobryshev accompanied him onto the podium. Cairoli ended the GP seventh.

The riders now get a weekend off before the final round of the season at Lierop: the Benelux GP.

MX1 Race 1 result:
1. Antonio Cairoli, ITA, KTM
2. Clement Desalle, BEL, Suzuki
3. Kevin Strijbos, BEL, Suzuki
4. Evgeny Bobryshev, RUS, Honda
5. Ken de Dycker, BEL, KTM

MX1 Race 2 result:
1. Clement Desalle, BEL, Suzuki
2. Jeremy van Horebeek, BEL, Kawasaki
3. Kevin Strijbos, BEL, Suzuki
4. Evgeny Bobryshev, RUS, Honda
5. Gautier Paulin, FRA, Kawasaki

Final MX1 classification for GP of Great Britain:
1. Clement Desalle, BEL, Suzuki – 47 points
2. Kevin Strijbos, BEL, Suzuki – 40
3. Evgeny Bobryshev, RUS, Honda – 36
4. Ken de Dycker, BEL, KTM – 31
5. Tommy Searle, GBR, Kawasaki – 29

MX1 World Championship standings after Round 16:
1. Antonio Cairoli, ITA, KTM – 718 points – World Champion
2. Clement Desalle, BEL, Suzuki – 647
3. Ken de Dycker, BEL, KTM – 573
4. Gautier Paulin, FRA, Kawasaki – 513
5. Kevin Strijbos, BEL, Suzuki – 509

read more about
Next Story