Here Are the Longest Winning Streaks in Motorsport

Can you names the record holders in F1, WRC, motocross, Le Mans, and more? Here they are. rounds up the longest winning streaks in motorsport history.
Motorsport's longest winning streaks
By Greg Stuart
Sebastian Vettel holds his trophy at the 2013 Indian Grand Prix.
Sebastian Vettel won nine races in a row in 2013 © Getty Images/Red Bull Content Pool

Sebastian Vettel

Discipline: Formula One
Nine wins in a row in one season (2013)

For nine straight Formula One races in 2013, from the Belgian Grand Prix to the Brazilian Grand Prix, no other driver stood on the top step of the podium apart from Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel. The record equals Alberto Ascari’s number of consecutive wins – although Ascari’s record came over two seasons. A win for Vettel at the opening round of the 2014 championship in Australia would give him the ultimate record.

Sébastien Loeb celebrating his 2012 World Rally title with his Citroen team.
Sébastien Loeb won nine straight titles © GEPA Images/McKlein/Red Bull Content Pool

Sébastien Loeb

Discipline: Rally
Nine World Rally Championship titles in a row (2004–2012)

It’s quite hard to choose which record to go for with Sébastien Loeb. There’s the six consecutive victories in 2005. Or the eight consecutive Rally Argentina wins. But we’ve gone for the biggy – Loeb’s nine World Rally Championship titles on the trot from 2004 to 2012.

Giacomo Agostini riding his Yamaha at the 1975 Finnish Grand Prix.
Giacomo Agostini won 58 races in a row © DPPI

Giacomo Agostini

Discipline: MotoGP
58 straight victories on 350cc and 500cc machinery (1968–1971)

Riding his beloved MV Agusta, Giacomo 'Ago' Agostini won every Motorcycle Grand Prix he entered – 58 in total – on both 350cc and 500cc machinery, between 1968 and round two of the 1971 season in Germany. And that record includes six victories at the fearsome Isle of Man TT...

Tom Kristensen winning with Audi at Le Mans 2005.
Tom Kristensen celebrates his 2005 Le Mans victory © Audi AG

Tom Kristensen

Discipline: Sports cars
Six consecutive Le Mans 24 Hour wins (2000–2005)

Tom Kristensen is not called "Mr. Le Mans" for nothing. The Danish driver took his first Le Mans win in 1997 for Porsche, before beginning a winning streak in 2000 with both Audi and Bentley that lasted until 2005. Kristensen has a total of nine wins at the race, and every race he hasn’t won, he’s either finished second or retired.

James Stewart had an unbeaten motocross season in 2008.
James Stewart was unbeaten in 2008 © Garth Milan/Red Bull Content Pool

James Stewart

Discipline: Motocross
24 consecutive race wins in one season (2008)

Coming off a knee injury that saw him miss the 2008 supercross series, motocross racer James ‘Bubba’ Stewart bounced back in the 2008 AMA Motocross season, taking 24 wins – aka, all of the races – that season. Now that’s how you recover!

Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost driving the McLaren MP4/4 during the 1988 Formula One season.
The McLaren MP4/4 dominated in 1988 © DPPI

McLaren MP4/4

Discipline: Formula One
10 consecutive race wins in one season (1988)

Ah, the McLaren MP4/4. Gordon Murray-designed, Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna raced, and totally, completely dominant. Were it not for Gerhard Berger’s win for Ferrari at the 1988 Italian Grand Prix, the MP4/4 would have won every race that season. It still managed 10 on the bounce from the opening round in Brazil to the Belgian Grand Prix, while in qualifying for that year’s San Marino Grand Prix, polesitter Senna lapped a full 3.352 seconds faster than third-placed man Nelson Piquet – with Prost second on the grid, natch.

The car may have been good – but the relationship between Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost wasn't! Read what happens when F1 champions go head-to-head in the same team here.

But who has one of the worst losing streaks…?

Dick Dastardly driving his Mean Machine from the cartoon series Wacky Races.
Dick Dastardly and his Mean Machine © Hanna-Barbera

And the biggest loser is...

Dick Dastardly

Discipline: Wacky racing
34 Wacky Races without a single win (1968–1969)

Pay attention kids! Cheats never prosper, and nowhere is that lesson better learned than with the sad career of Richard ‘Dick’ Dastardly. Dastardly started 34 Wacky Races between 1968 and 1969 in his purple Mean Machine and failed to win a single one, despite using a number of dastardly tactics. Drat, drat and double drat, indeed!

read more about
Next Story