The Stories Behind the Songs: Black Lips

Listen to a podcast with the Atlanta band and hear 22 of their best songs.
Black Lips
Black Lips at Primavera Sound in 2012 © Pere Masramon/Red Bull Content Pool
By Elliott Sharp

The Black Lips, who play a Red Bull Sound Select showcase in their hometown of Atlanta this Friday, have been finishing up their seventh studio album.

In a recent interview with The Hollywood Reporter, bassist Jared Swilley revealed that the album will be partly produced by Patrick Carney of the Black Keys. Mark Ronson produced the previous album, 'Arabia Mountain' (2011). Swilley said the new album will be a combination of “club bangers and Southern rock anthems,” and that it will also include an appearance by Bradford Cox of Deerhunter.

Last fall, the Black Lips spent four weeks touring the Middle East. They played in Iraq, Dubai, Lebanon, Cyprus, and Egypt, and these travels were the topic of a tour documentary called 'Kids Like You and Me.' In a recent interview, Swilley told us the following about the band's show in Palestine: “We started playing Chuck Berry songs in front of a mosque, and all these kids and their parents came out and invited us to their restaurant.”

Sounds like fun! A while back Red Bull Music Academy Radio recorded an intimate Fireside Chat with the Black Lips, in which Swilley plays 22 songs from the band's discography and talks about the early days of coming up in the Atlanta music scene.

Track List

1 In & Out
2 B-52 Bomber Boy
3 O Katrina!
4 Punk Slime
5 Dirty Hands
6 Hippie, Hippie, Hoorah
7 Navajo
8 How Do You Tell A Child That Someone Has Died
9 Bad Kids
10 I’ll Be With You
11 Let It Grow
12 Again & Again
13 Slime And Oxygene
14 Freakout
15 Starting Over
16 Empassant
17 Body Combat
18 Veni Vidi Vici
19 Lock And Key
20 The Drop I Hold
21 Untitled
22 Hippys

Follow Elliott Sharp and Red Bull Sound Select on Twitter for more updates.

read more about
Next Story