Discover what kind of Dakar competitor you could be

© Alfred Jürgen Westermeyer/Red Bull Content Pool
By Tina Torelli
Take our personality test to discover which category of the world's toughest rally you fall into.
For 41 years, adventurers, desert lovers and speed junkies have gathered together to see who can conquer the gruelling challenge that is the Dakar Rally.
If you've ever wondered what kind of person would sign up to this intense competition, we've devised a quiz that might demystify things.
Answer the questions below and discover if you're a factory rider, an original class rider, a side-by-side driver, a car driver, a truck driver, a truck mechanic or a co-driver.
It doesn't even matter if you don't have a driving licence – just follow the example of the youngest Dakar 2019 competitor, Mitchell van den Brink, who will be 16 years old when he takes part in January.
Likewise, big muscles and a stubble are not a condition either. This year 17 fearless females will join the show as well.

A reminder of the five Dakar categories

Divided in two groups, Series Production Trucks and Modified Trucks, the vehicles weighing more than 3,500 kg first raced the Dakar as a separate category in 1980.
The car class is made up of vehicles weighing less than 3,500 kg and is subdivided into several categories.
The first group is formed by petrol or diesel Improved Cross-Country Vehicles of two-wheel or four-wheel drive. Cross-Country Series Production Vehicles represent the second group and are again divided into petrol and diesel classes.
The third and fourth category are Light Vehicles and UTV Open, a class for non-light vehicles as seen in American Bajas. Vehicles powered by alternative energy and 100 percent electric cars fight for two challenges within the category.
Rally · 3 min
Dakar on car vs bike
Side-by-side vehicles
The SSV category, meant for four-wheel side-by-side vehicles with 1000cc maximum displacement, was first added to the Dakar rally in 2017.
Since 2009, quads are no longer a part of the motorbike category. They are divided into two groups – a group of two-wheel drive quads with a single cylinder engine and maximum capacity of 750cc, and a group of four-wheel drive quads with a maximum engine capacity of 900cc.
The riders are divided into two groups – elite and non-elite, with the latter divided into the Super Production and Marathon classes.
Marathon competitors are not permitted to change any key component of the bike during the race. As established in 2011, the engine capacity limit for all motorbikes competing in the Dakar is 450cc.
Inside the motorbike category, there is a wild pack of riders, competing without assistance – they used to call them malle moto riders, now we call them Originals.
Rally Raid · 3 min
The KTM Dakar bike