MotoGPMotorbike Road Racing

Video: MotoGP history time ahead of Silverstone

Written by Joseph Caron Dawe
There's plenty of background, and some more history could be made at this weekend's British GP.
Marc Márquez leads at Silverstone in 2012
Marc Márquez leads at Silverstone in 2012
MotoGP lands on British shores this weekend as the World Championship hurtles onwards with Round 12 – the third successive weekend of action in what's been a busy and exciting stretch of the 2013 season.
MotoGP returned to Silverstone in 2010 after a 23-year absence, and with plenty of history surrounding the venue looks back through its history ahead of the British Grand Prix.


The year of the first motorcycle Grand Prix at Silverstone. From 1949 to 1976 the British round of the World Championship was held on the Isle of Man


From 1977 to 1986 the Grand Prix races held at Silverstone could have as many as eight rider lining up across the front row of the grid.


The number of years Silverstone held the British GP before it moved to Donington Park in 1987.


It returned to Silverstone in 2010, with a revised circuit layout measuring 5.9km.


Jorge Lorenzo is the only rider to have won more than once since the Grands Prix returned to Silverstone. He has two victories, one in 2010 and one last year.


There have been 12 British riders who've finished on the podium at Silverstone; Barry Sheene (1978/500cc/3rd, 1979/500cc/2nd), TomHerron (1978/250cc/2nd, 1978/350cc/2nd), John Williams (1977/350cc/3rd), Steve Manship (1978/500cc/2nd), Mick Grant (1978/350cc/3rd), Clive Horton (1978/125cc/2nd), Keith Huewen (1981/350cc/2nd), Andy Watts (1984/250cc/2nd), Ron Haslam (1984/500cc/3rd), Ian McConnachie (1986/80cc/1st), Bradley Smith (2010/125cc/3rd, 2011/Moto2/2nd) and Scott Redding (2012/Moto2/2nd).


Just one British rider has started from pole at Silverstone: BarrySheene in the 1977 500cc race.

And finally...

If Marc Márquez's winning streak continues at the British GP this weekend, he will become just the seventh rider in history to have won five or more successive premier-class races. He would also become the youngest too.