Scott Croxall, Red Bull Crashed Ice champion 2015
© Balazs Gardi/Red Bull Content Pool

Scott Croxall is crowned Crashed Ice champion

It’s a race win for Cameron Naasz, but second-placed Scott Croxall does enough to seal the title.
Written by Sam Bloomfield
2 min readPublished on

1 min

Highlights of Red Bull Crashed Ice 2015, Edmonton

Watch the key action from the 2015 finale of the Ice Cross Downhill World Championship.

The Ice Cross Downhill World Championship was delicately poised going into the crucial final race of the season in Edmonton, but when it came to the crunch – and there were plenty of those – it was Canada's Scott Croxall who clinched the vital points he needed to take the title. 
Watch the best of the action in the video player above.
You’re wild Edmonton! Thanks for cheering me on.
– Scott Croxall
After wins in Helsinki and Belfast, the younger Croxall took second place on the night to win the championship in front of a crowd of 70,000 and finish with his nose in front of the rest of the band of brothers. He was overjoyed to have become the fifth different Crashed Ice champion in as many seasons: "It feels great. You're wild Edmonton! Thanks for cheering me on. It's amazing. I couldn't be happier."
There was less joy for the rest of the Canadian contingent however, with the USA's Cameron Naasz winning the event itself, thanks to brilliant overtaking moves on both Scott Croxall and Dean Moriarity in the final race of the night. The result saw him leap up the season's standings from sixth to second overall.
Naasz was delighted to have beaten the champion into second place on the night, commenting: "That makes three wins in Red Bull Crashed Ice, [including] one in the Riders Cup this year. Beating this guy... It's unreal."
The third spot on the podium went to Naasz's compatriot, Tommy Mertz, who smashed his previous best finish of 26th.
Naasz's late surge in the standings means that Scott's older brother, 2012 champion Kyle Croxall, had to be satisfied with fourth overall, with Dean and Dylan Moriarity either side of him in third and fifth respectively. 2014 champion Marco Dallago of Austria finished outside the race's top 10, so slipped a place to sixth for the season.
An exciting women's race saw Finland's Salla Kyhala dominate a strong Canadian field to make it two wins from two this season, following her victory in Saint Paul.
Red Bull Crashed Ice 2015 final standings
1. Scott Croxall (CAN) 3325.00pts 2. Cameron Naasz (USA) 2512.50pts 3. Dean Moriarity (CAN) 2375.00pts 4. Kyle Croxall (CAN) 2315.00pts 5. Dylan Moriarity (CAN) 2140.00pts

Part of this story

Red Bull Crashed Ice: Canada

Edmonton hosts the grand final of the 2018 edition of the Ice Cross Downhill World Championship.

CanadaEdmonton, Alberta, Canada
View Event Info